Carlos Jiménez & Josh Rager

Jazz guitarist and composer, Carlos Jiménez is a very active musician in the Montreal jazz scene. In the past few years, he has shared the stage with some of the most expressive names of Canadian jazz. From the new generation of jazz musicians such as Josh Rager, Dave Watts, Fraser Hollins, Joel Miller and Michel Berthiaume, to the established jazz veterans such as Kevin Dean, Andre White, Frank Lozano, Rémi Bolduc, Brian Hurley, Joe Sullivan, Steve Amirault and Don Thompson. His versatility and ability to play various styles on both electric and classical instruments has made him a first choice guitarist for various projects: the Joe Sullivan Big Band, the Brian Hurley Quartet, the Daniel Lessard Trio, the Jean-­‐Nicolas Trottier Tentet, the Jacinta Luis Quintet and the Dorothée Berryman Ensemble. His first recording as a leader entitled Undercurrents was released in March 2011.

Along with his work as a sideman, Carlos Jiménez was featured on various recordings and radio shows such as Jazz Beat and Canada Live, produced by the CBC. He has also collaborated to the soundtrack of the Oscar winning short movie The Danish Poet, produced by the National Film Board of Canada. In 2009, he received a studying grant from the Canada Council for the Arts to study with American guitarist Adam Rogers, in New York. Carlos Jiménez is currently on faculty at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University and serves as Jazz Area Coordinator at the McGill Conservatory. He holds a Master’s degree and a Bachelor’s degree in Jazz Performance from McGill University.

Carlos Jiménez: guitar
Josh Rager: piano
Dave Watts: bass
Michel Berthiaume: drums

Carlos Jiménez - Expressway

Josh is a pianist, arranger, composer, and teacher based in Montreal, Canada. Throughout his 10 year career he has performed extensively in Japan, Europe and North America. In 2005 he was nominated for the Prix du Festival at the Montreal International Jazz festival. In 2008 Josh released a solo CD project entitled "Time and Again" on Effendi Records. Receiving critical praise in reviews across the country it was also short‐listed by jazz critic Peter Hum as one of the top 10 albums of 2008. Some of the names that Josh has performed and/or recorded with include: Ingrid Jensen, Walt Weiskopf, Donny McCaslin, Joe Morrello, Pat Labarbera, Kevin Dean, Rane Lee, and Dawn Tyler Watson. Set for release this fall is a new solo CD entitled “Kananaskis” featuring Josh’s current working piano trio. With Dave Watts on Bass and John Fraboni on the drums the music is an exciting mix of originals and well known covers including a reworking of the Beachboys rock ballad “God Only Knows”. The CD will be released in the fall of 2011.

Josh Rager - Piano
Dave Watts - Bass
John Fraboni - Drums

Josh Rager - God Only Knows

Back ›››

FEBRUARY 2019 Click on a date
to see the events
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28    
<  January March  >