Tony Williams was one of the greatest drummers, composers and bandleaders of all time. After beginning his career with the Miles Davis Quintet, Williams created his own path throughout the 1970’s, 80’s and 90’s with original music and groundbreaking drumming. His signature explosive style and refined sense of composition led him to create the Tony Williams Quintet, which Montréal’s own Ira Coleman was a longstanding member of.

This edition of the Jacob Wutzke Quintet, under the guidance of master bass player Ira Coleman, plays tribute to the music of Tony Williams. Join the quintet as they perform some of the most celebrated and some lesser known compositions of Tony Williams.

Max Zhang (trumpet)
Michael Bruzzese (guitar)
Bryn Roberts (piano)
Ira Coleman (bass)
Jacob Wutzke (drums)

Youtube video: “Oleo”

Leave a Reply